All from Press Centre

Alstom helps customers cut CO2 emissions by 207 million tonnes annually

05/06/2013

Alstom's commitment to delivering cleaner energy across the world has saved more than the equivalent of three times Austria's annual emissions over the last decade, new figures show. An in-depth analysis of data from 2002-2011 reveals that Alstom's environmental measures, on both new plants and retrofits of existing power facilities, have saved a cumulated amount of 207 million tonnes of CO2 by end of 2011 from projects completed since 2002.

The cumulative CO2 reductions achieved on Alstom projects have risen each year on both renewable and thermal power projects. The savings made in thermal projects have grown as Alstom technology has developed to meet the challenges of cleaner and more efficient power, for new plants and for existing ones. These include more efficient gas turbines, ultra-supercritical steam turbines and boilers for coal-fired plants upgrades for the installed fleet and the pilot installations for Carbon, Capture & Storage. Savings on renewable projects, particularly hydro and wind have risen by more than seventy times in the ten years, reflecting Alstom’s broadening portfolio in green energy.

The research covered 1,445 projects undertaken by Alstom over the ten years of the study, measuring actual emissions of an Alstom plant in the first year of its operation against the standard emissions of the local plant type that it replaces. This plant-by-plant approach of calculating displaced and avoided CO2 emissions is based on the guidelines of the WRI/WBCSD(1)‘Greenhouse Gas Protocol’, with the methodology and results verified by international auditor PricewaterhouseCoopers.

Alstom’s emissions mitigation work has been particularly effective in growth markets such as China and India, where CO2 savings for every megawatt installed have reached nearly 2,000 tonnes and more than 1,500 tonnes respectively, demonstrating the company’s valuable role in providing clean power solutions to expanding economies where efficiency and environmental protection have become even more important as the demand for electricity increases.

Energy sustainability is the goal we aim for,” says Thermal Power President Philippe Cochet,”and as these figures prove, we at Alstom push harder and harder each year to deliver cleaner power. At the heart of our work is our understanding that no single technology meets everyone’s needs, and instead to offer a range of innovative solutions to different circumstances. Common to all of them, though, is the commitment to continuous improvement – in terms of cost of electricity, environmental footprint, flexibility and reliability”.

 

1World Resources Institute and World Business Council for Sustainable Development

 

Cumulated CO2 reductions (projects completed by Alstom in 2002–2011) per MW installed by region

Press Contacts 
Virginie Hourdin - virginie.hourdin-bremond@alstom.com
Isabelle Tourancheau - isabelle.tourancheau@chq.alstom.com 

Sapna Lalwani (Alstom Thermal Power) - sapna.lalwani@power.alstom.com
Claire Biau (Alstom Thermal Power) - claire.biau@power.alstom.com

Stephanie Roux (Alstom Renewable Power) - stephanie.roux@power.alstom.com
Jerome Bridon (Alstom Renewable Power) - jerome.bridon@power.alstom.com

Investor Relations

Delphine Brault - delphine.brault@chq.alstom.com 

RELATED LINKS

Discover the options existing to reconcile our growing need for electrical energy with the fight against climate change since electricity production represents nearly half of CO2 emissions in the atmosphere.

CO2: how to get rid of it?